April 28th SANDAG Scoping Meeting

Yesterday I attended the Scoping meeting at Heritage Elementary, which SANDAG held from 4pm – 8pm. I didn’t know what to expect, but went prepared with a speech for a public comments portion if it was structured like council meetings. The scoping meeting was in the school auditorium. SANDAG had their presentation posters for the route from the 805 to the Otay Boarder Crossing presented around the room. Everyone was told that people could either write written comments or dictate to a court reported who would transcribe your comments.

Jennifer Williamson mentioned that there would be two other scoping meetings. I can’t find the time and date as yet but will post them as soon as I can. We were informed that there is a dead line to submit public comments, which is May 19th. This is very important for every resident to make all the comments in writing by letter or e-mail before this date. You can write one long comment all at once or many short comments sent separately. I have already posted the a Scoping Meeting Comment Form PDF in an earlier post to download. Here is the mailing and e-mail information once more;

Please submit your comments to:

Rob Rundle, SANDAG

401 B Street, Suite 800

San Diego, CA 92101

Email to –  rru@sandag.org

I did get to speak with a few of the SANDAG representatives while there. I talked to Jennifer Williamson about her comment at the SANDAG Transportation Committee meeting, that Monet residences were not directly affected like Treviana Residences. This is inaccurate because while not ALL our Monet residences are as close there are two large home structures within 11 feet away. She said that’s not what she said and that she would have to look at the transcripts of the meeting. I encourage her to do so because giving accurate information to decision makers is imperative.

Also I expressed how the residences did not appreciate that it was “not important” to SANDAG to replace the Signage that was removed from the right of way between our communities. Another staffer told me I must not remember that comment correctly because Jennifer didn’t use those words at the Treviana H.O.A. meeting where they presented. I know I, and other residents there can attest to the accuracy of that statement. This may seem nitpicky but if they are the experts and people in charge we NEED to hold them to a high standard. Every Chula Vista Resident should be important to our government.

I wanted to be clear about the signage and how to not mislead the public any longer about the use of that space. I asked who owned that land. I was told that McMillin Homes (the developer) owns the land and offered SANDAG the right to use it for public purposes at any time they would like. Ok makes since. Jennifer told me that it was up to McMillin to maintain the green belt and signage infinitely. I then asked because of how they explained it, “but SANDAG would assume ownership of the property when they decide to use it for a project?” in this case transportation. I was told yes. Then I asked, “hasn’t SANDAG taken ownership then because you are planning and engineering the BTR through the area as of now?” I was told well yes. So I said then the signage is your responsibility then they said no because McMillin owns it.

Jennifer told the residents at a Treviana H.O.A. presentation that two years ago SANDAG became aware that the builder McMillin removed the signs and planted trees. She told me now that they contacted the builder stipulating they replace them. She did say the builder was very hard to work with. But this was TWO years ago. During all this time nothing further was attempted to make McMillin comply. If I see a leak in my ceiling caused from a neighbor, tell the neighbor hey there’s a leak fix it. If the neighbor does nothing, I don’t follow up, the leak slowly spreads, and the roof collapses on me days/months/years later. Did I really do enough? No.

Also McMillin apparently built the pull in areas in the right of way between View Park Way and Magdalena Ave. on East Palomar without SANDAG’s engineering approval. I was told that the way they were constructed a smaller 40 bus would not be able to use them. I was told McMillin built them with money out of their pocket and no city funds. So is this why SANDAG keeps letting McMillin groom the area as they see fit?

When I talked about how the public could find better information as to the original planning. A representative said I would be able to get early plans, documents, and maps about  when the route was clearly mapped out in and around 1994 on microfiche with the city. When I buy my next home I will make sure to view microfiche plans like the other buyers who have said we should have done our homework. When I google Otay Ranch information on the BTR doesn’t pop up off the bat. As is I have to look for specific documents with BTR in the title to view maps from 2004 and on.

There are also other points of interest but I will do some additional posts and incorporate them into them. I know this is a long post thanks for hanging in there with me.

One thought on “April 28th SANDAG Scoping Meeting

Leave a comment